Teachers & Teachings Monastic Institutes About Us Events & Activities Tharjay Charitable Projects Merit Making Contributions Gallery Contact Us


History of the Great Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo's Lineage

Khyentse Incarnations



The 1st Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo was a great master of the non-sectarian lineage holder of the Tibetan Vajrayana Buddhism (1820-1892).

Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo was the emanation of great Bodhisattva Manjushri.  Although he had attained Buddhahood from the very beginning, he still continued to appear in this realm of beings as a Bodhisattva, to liberate the last of the beings from the sufferings of the cyclic existence. As a Bodhisattva, he has performed infinite profound and secret activities for the benefit of sentient beings of all the Worlds.


In India, he emanated as:

Manjushrimitra - the Great Pandita of India,

Vimalamitra - the great pandita from the Five Peaks of Manjushri, Wui Tai Shan, China, (view image)

and Phadhampa Sangye - the great mahasiddha from India.(view image)

In the land of Tibet, there have been various emanations of this bodhisattva that appeared to benefit sentient beings, such as:

Chogyal Trisong Deutsen -Dharma King of Tibet who invited Guru Rinpoche for the establishment of the Vajrayana Buddhism. (view image)

Gyalsay Lhaje Chokdup Gyalpo, one of the first thirteen tertons. (view image)

Longchen Rabjampa was also Khyentse Wangpo’s emanation and a great Nyingmapa lineage holder. (view image)

Je Gampopa, the founder of the Kagyupa lineage and the main principal disciple of Milarepa. (view image)

Jetsun Drakpa Gyaltsen, the founder of the Sakyapa and one of the five great lineage holders. (view image)

Dromtonpa Gyalwai Jungney, the great lineage holder of the old Kadampa and the main disciple of Atisha. (view image)

Thangtong Gyalpo, the great yogi and rime (non-sectarian) master known for building many long iron bridges. (view image)

The Fifth Dalai Lama, Lobsang Gyatso, new Kadampa lineage (Gelugpa) and terton revealer. (view image)

When Jamyang Khyentse was reborn as Gyalsay Lhaje, he reincarnated into 12 different forms, either as great treasure revealers or as tertons. The thirteenth terton was Pema Osel Do Ngag Lingpa or Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo himself, the charioteer of the seven great orders, rime master and crown ornament of all the masters in the land of snow. Khyentse Wangpo could recall all his past lives very clearly Jamgon Kongtrul Lodro Thaye also saw Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo’s past life in his vision and he wrote the prayer to the successive incarnations of Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo.

Life Story of Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo>>